Mason County Joint Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is composed of 8 members:  4 appointed by the Mayor of Maysville and approved by the City Commission, and 4 appointed by the Mason County Judge-Executive and approved by the Fiscal Court.

Current members of the Planning Commission:

  • John Bess (City)
  • John Hutchings (City)
  • Lesley Myers (City)
  • Rick Lawrence (City)
  • David Reed (County)
  • Lindsay Phillips (County)
  • Kirby Rosser (County)
  • Gerald Woods (County)
The Planning Commission is charged with 4 main duties, among others:

  • Prepare, review, amend, and recommend adoption of the Comprehensive Plan to the legislative bodies
  • Enforce, review, and adopt the Subdivision Regulations
  • Recommend changes to the legislative bodies regarding the Land Use Management Ordinance and Official Land Use Maps
  • File land-use restrictions with the County Clerk (i.e. map amendments, conditional use permits, and variances)
The Planning Commission meets on the 1st Wednesday of the month at 5:30 p.m. in the Maysville Municipal Building.

George Larger is the administrative officer for Mason County Joint Planning Commission and may be contacted at 606-564-2719 or