The City of Maysville has a City Manager form of government in which the city commission employs a city manager to handle the day-to-day operations of the city as provided by Kentucky Regulatory Statute 83A.150.

The City of Maysville has a five member Board of Commissioners, including the Mayor, which sets policy through municipal orders, resolutions, and ordinances.

The Board of Commissioners meets on the second Thursdays of each month at 5:15 p.m. and the fourth Thursday of the month at 11:00 a.m. at Maysville Municipal Building, 216 Bridge Street, Maysville, KY 41056. Meetings are also live-streamed via City’s Facebook and the YouTube pages.