Mayor & Commissioners

The City of Maysville’s legislative body is the Board of Commissioners, which consists of Mayor Debra L. Cotterill, and Commissioners Victor McKay, Andrew Wood, David Cartmell, and Ann Brammer.

The Board of Commissioners meets on the second Thursday, of each month at 5:15 p.m. and the fourth Thursday at 11:00 a.m., at Maysville Municipal Building, 216 Bridge Street, Maysville, KY 41056.


Mayor Debra L. Cotterill

Debra L. Cotterill retired from the University of Kentucky in 2019 after eight years as Nutrition Education Programs Director in which she provided administrative leadership for the USDA-funded Expanded Food and Nutrition Program and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. This program afforded $16 million to more than 700,000 Kentuckians by 2019. Her responsibilities included 150 full-time employees, annual grant proposals, program delivery oversight for more than 300 county agents, and all financials and audits. She also served as Mason County Cooperative Extension Agent, 1996-2011; taught part-time and Maysville Community College, 198-1996; and worked in a number of Maysville businesses. Mrs. Cotterill is a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a Bachelor of Science in 1976 and a Master of Science in 2002. She was appointed Mayor of Maysville on April 15, 2021 to fill the unexpired term of her husband, Charles T. Cotterill after his untimely death on April 1, 2021.

Office: 606-564-9419

Victor McKay

Victor McKay is the fifth of nine sons born to Jane S. McKay and the late Patrick McKay, Jr. His brothers include Mike, Leo, Joe, Dennis, Danny, Gerald, Bernard, and the late Pat McKay, IV. He is married to the former Mary A. Gallenstein, and they have three children, Chad, Patrick Dylan, and Caroline.

Victor is director of the Buffalo Trace District Health Department. He earned both his Master’s and Bachelor’s degrees from Morehead State University, and is a graduate of Maysville Community College and St. Patrick High School.

He was elected to Maysville City Commission first in 2002, again in 2004, and in 2012. He served as vice-mayor, and as vice-president of Maysville Public Building Corporation 2002-06. In his early professional career, he covered local government for the local newspaper and served as the executive director of the Maysvile-Mason County Tourism Commission from 1990-93.

Victor serves as Mayor Pro Tem and on the Maysville-Mason County Landfill Committee.

Mobile: 606-584-0449

Andrew Wood

Is married to Beth Wood. They have four children. Andrew Wood is a 1985 graduate of Mason County High School. He attended Maysville Community College and University of Kentucky before graduating from Miami University in 1990 with degrees in Finance and General Business. He is a 1993 graduate of Chase College of Law at Northern Kentucky University and has been practicing law in Maysville since 1993 — first with Fox, Wood & Wood and then with Wood, Wood & Young.

Since returning from college, he has been active in the community. He has served on the Main Street Board, as chairman of the Maysville-Mason County Arts Commission for five years, and on the Camp Discovery Committee since its inception. He has also regularly taken a leadership roles in the Presbyterian Church.

Office: 606-564-9959

Ann Brammer

Commissioner Brammer has worked for Wald Manufacturing, City of Maysville position of City Clerk, co-owned Special Touch Cleaning and then, along with husband, owned and operated EZ Cash Pawn and Jewelry.  She has two children and three grandchildren.

Mobile: 606-584-1760

David Cartmell

Commissioner Cartmell has previously served five terms as mayor of Maysville. He is past-past president of Kentucky League of Cities and the National Brownfields Association Kentucky Chapter. After graduating from Morehead State University, he worked in Washington DC and Boulder, Colorado before returning to Maysville. He has been involved locally in the tobacco warehouse, newspaper publishing, and ferriage businesses.

Mobile: 606-584-5371

Commissioners also serve on the following administrative committees and boards:

  • Ambulance Committee – Mayor Cotterill
  • Audit Committee – Mayor Cotterill and Commissioner Wood
  • Communications Committee – Commissioner Cartmell
  • N. Foster Committee – Commissioners Brammer and Wood
  • Landfill Committee – Commissioner McKay
  • Recreation Park Committee – Commissioner Brammer

The City of Maysville has a city manager form of government pursuant to KRS 83A.150.